Spring Break in the 1967 VW Bus

Not long after my teenage emo phase came the hippy phase, where I was obsessed with the 60’s. Footage of the 60’s and van life videos were the large majority of my media intake at that time. My favorite band was the Beatles and I almost exclusively listened to music from the time, indie music, and of course the one thing I couldn’t leave behind, One Direction.

I wore long flowy clothes and flair jeans. Although now wearing flair jeans is popular, at the time of this phase my peers wore exclusively skinny jeans. For Decades Day during spirit week I would go to school in a typical outfit and be asked to join a yearbook photo. It’s safe to say that a Volkswagen Bus would be a dream to own.

I began my spring break by driving two and a half hours home and seeing a pink VW Bus in our driveway. While it wasn’t ours, I was still able to spend a night in the fully restored 1967 bus.

20240319_1152562503118606008819565

It is a bit chilly here where I live, with nights getting down into the 30s at times, I was happy to have a heater in the bus.

6 comments

    • Thanks so much! I think it is a natural transition from hippie to emo and vice versa, I see a lot of it on social media. The bed was surprisingly super comfy I had a lot of fun.

      Like

Leave a comment